801.361.8589 [email protected]

I have heard talk and seen posts and articles comparing COVID-19 to the Spanish Flu. There is quite the debate about similarities and differences between the pandemics, but one thing that most can agree on is the wealth of resources we have now that didn’t exist in 1918. With all the uncertainty we are experiencing it is easy to let fear creep in. To help ease worry, anxiety, and to just improve mental health altogether we have a whole list of resources below to help. Unfortunately, you can no longer watch that “game” or go to that “party” so maybe you have 10 minutes to try a new meditation app? Or maybe you download a new online video course to learn a new skill set?

Although times are uncertain, it is possible to cope effectively and even thrive during this chaotic time.

Helpful Apps

Mindfulness- Meditation Based Apps

Ten Percent Happier – free COVID- 19 mindfulness info & live guided meditations, some other content free (free for 6months for healthcare workers)

Headspace – several of its meditation collections free (healthcare workers can also get a full subscription for free)

Black Lotus – free – focuses on mindfulness, gratefulness, spreading positive messages & random acts of kindness

Stop, Breathe & Think – most content is free – mindfulness, health, yoga & acupressure videos

Timeless – Meditation – most content is free –mindfulness meditations, time & progress tracking

Insight Timer – most content is free – guided meditations, music, blogs

Mindfulness Coach – free (VA) uses mindfulness to manage anxiety and depression

Aura – some free content – meditations, sends positive daily quotes, mood tracking

Calm – some free content, everything free for 7 days

Breathe2Relax – free – teaches and reinforces diaphragmatic breathing for anxiety & PTSD

Anxiety, Depression & PTSD Focus

Virtual Hope Box- free – mindfulness, coping, distraction & positive thinking.  Can store photos & items that will make them feel hopeful.  Developed to use in conjunction with provider

Whats Up –Mental Health App- free- uses CBT & ACT techniques for coping, grounding, and tracking mood

Mindshift CBT – Anxiety Canada – free – uses CBT and mindfulness for anxiety, tracks mood, set goals

Self – Help for Anxiety Management – free – CBT and self-help techniques for anxiety, does not use mindfulness, chat feature to connect with others

CBT Thought Record Diary – free – CBT techniques for anxiety and depression

PTSD Coach (Veterans Affairs) – free – CBT & mindfulness based, assessments and connect with others

Woebot.oi – free -chat with an AI chatbot trained in CBT, mindfulness, and ACT and it checks in with you every day

ACT Coach – free – (VA) uses ACT principles for PTSD and anxiety

CBT-i Coach – free – CBT for insomnia, built to use in partnership with individual therapy or group

OCD Focus

NOCD: Effective Care for OCD – free – mindfulness & exposure response prevention, live therapist chat through the app

GG-OCD Thoughts Exercise – initial content free – CBT and coping skills training for OCD

Bipolar and Schizophrenia Focus

emoods Bipolar Mood Tracker – mostly free – track moods and graphs them for information

UCFS Prime – free – Schizophrenia self-care and connection, connect with coaches and peers & set goals

Suicide Prevention

NotOK – free – digital panic button that notifies contacts in their phone that they are not OK, sends message and GPS coordinates

MY3 – free- safety plan toolbox and contacts, call crisis lines from app

Addiction Recovery

Field Guide to lifefree – (Hazelden) recovery 12 step focus with tracking, focus is for newly sober

My Sober Life – free – (Hazelden) recovery 12 step focus for teens, focus is for under 1 yr sobriety

Addicaid – CBT, MI, and 12 step and social networking for recovery and addiction to any substance

Other Useful Apps

#SelfCare – free – IOS game that lets you participate in self-care virtually

Mend – basic content free- advice and coping skills to use after a break-up, can connect with others(upgrade)

Quit –That! – Habit Tracker – free – simple tracking of habits including costs and savings of changing habit

Websites

Coronavirus Anxiety-Related Resources

Virus Anxiety – https://www.virusanxiety.com/

Pandemic Care – https://www.tarabrach.com/pandemic/

NAMI – file:///Users/sarahjolley/Downloads/NAMI%20COVID-19.pdf

Medicare – https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/specific-groups/high-risk-complications/olderadults.html?utm_campaign=20200325_gmd_prv_gal&utm_content=english&utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery

Support Groups

Coronavirus Panic Support – https://www.eventbrite.com/e/finding-calm-in-the-panic-support-forcovid19registration100306100246?fbclid=IwAR3yDQAnCtOcMleQOdxRob_S3h5giYNJxwFLXmLpNf10sPgdgEwgli8-hQ

Turn2me – https://www.turn2me.ie/group-supports

Tribe Wellness Community – https://support.therapytribe.com/

Coping Skills

Positive Psychology: Resilience & Coping (adult & youth resources) – https://positivepsychology.com/coping-skills-worksheets/?utm_source=ActiveCampaign&utm_medium=email&utm_content=%5BPP+Round-Up%5D+Navigating+Uncertainty+with+Positive+Psychology&utm_campaign=%5BPP+Round-Up%5D+Draft+24+March

Distress Tolerance Skills (DBT) – https://www.sunrisertc.com/distress-tolerance-skills/

Happify – https://www.sunrisertc.com/distress-tolerance-skills/

RAIN (A practice of radical compassion) – https://www.tarabrach.com/rain-practice-radical-compassion/

Grounding Techniques – https://www.healthline.com/health/grounding-techniques

Meditations & Mindfulness

Calm – https://www.calm.com/blog/take-a-deep-breath?utm_source=lifecycle&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=heartlessheavy_nonsubs

Headspace – https://www.headspace.com/covid-19

Insight – https://www.insightmeditation.org/

Oprah & Deepak Chopra 21-day Meditation Experience – https://chopracentermeditation.com/

Nalanda Institute – https://nalandainstitute.org/offerings-for-uncertain-times/

U of U Wellness & Zoom Mindfulness – https://coronavirus.utah.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2020/03/COVID-19-Well-being-Resources_Campus.pdf

Sounds True – Resilience in Challenging Times – https://product.soundstrue.com/resilience-in-challenging-times/

How to Build Resilience – https://soulsalt.com/how-to-build-resilience/

Guided Meditations – https://www.tarabrach.com/guided-meditations/

Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction Course – https://palousemindfulness.com/

Self-Compassion Guided Meditation & Exercises – https://self-compassion.org/category/exercises/#guided-meditations

Yoga

Gentle Yin Yoga – https://bohobeautiful.life/videos/gentle-yin-yoga/?v=7516fd43adaa

30 Days of Yoga – https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLui6Eyny-UzwxbWCWDbTzEwsZnnROBTIL

Core Power Yoga – https://www.corepoweryogaondemand.com/keep-up-your-practice

Art, Music, Dance, & Events

Now Playing Utah – https://www.nowplayingutah.com/categories/virtual/

Sundance – https://collab.sundance.org/?utm_source=Sundance+Institute+Mailing+List&utm_campaign=abda18c961-EMAIL_CAMPAIGN_2020_03_13_11_46_COPY_01&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_874220b756-abda18c961-134891237&mc_cid=abda18c961&mc_eid=76ccd500f2

Sadler’s Wells Digital Stage (Adult & Youth) – https://www.sadlerswells.com/whats-on/2020/digital-stage/

Thrillist Museum – https://www.thrillist.com/news/nation/virtual-museum-tours

Live-Streamed Theater & Dance – https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2020/mar/17/hottest-front-room-seats-the-best-theatre-and-dance-to-watch-online

Live-Streamed Gigs – https://www.theguardian.com/music/2020/mar/19/best-livestreamed-gigs-coronavirus-john-legend-chris-martin-code-orange

Will Kemp Art School – https://willkempartschool.com/how-to-paint-with-acrylic-paint-videos/

Water Color Painting – https://watercolorpainting.com/

Songs of Comfort – https://saratogaliving.com/musicians-performing-live-social-media/

Exercise

Yoga Sunne Free Streaming Yoga – https://www.facebook.com/groups/yogasunnelive/

Barre, Yoga, Dance, Pilates, & More – https://www.fastcompany.com/90481514/these-free-online-exercise-offers-will-help-keep-you-fit-and-sane-during-the-coronavirus-pandemic

Pelaton App – https://www.onepeloton.com/app

Planet Fitness Youtube – https://www.youtube.com/planetfitness

Orange Theory Fitness – https://www.orangetheory.com/en-us/athome/

305 Fitness Youtube – https://www.youtube.com/user/305Fitness

Learning Courses & Audiobooks

Yale The Science of Being – https://www.coursera.org/learn/the-science-of-well-being

Find Calm & Nourish Resilience – https://learning.mindful.org/p/daily-mindfulness-free/?mc_cid=e3646a8cd1&mc_eid=[UNIQID]

Duolingo – https://www.duolingo.com/

Class Central – https://www.classcentral.com/

TEDed – https://ed.ted.com/lessons?content_type=animations+talks&direction=desc&sort=publish-date&user_by_click=student

CHIRP – https://www.chirpbooks.com/

Volunteer, Donate, and/or Receive Assistance

Salt Lake COVID Mutual Aid – https://www.covid19mutualaidslc.com/

Utah Aids Foundation Food Bank or General Fund – https://www.utahaids.org/donate?emci=dcfc3ed3-426d-ea11-a94c-00155d03b1e8&emdi=faac83cd-466d-ea11-a94c-00155d03b1e8&ceid=3352671

United Way Covid-19 Community Response Fund – https://uw.org/covid19-community-fund/?utm_source=impact&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=COVID-19Response&utm_content=email&j=332923&sfmc_sub=51871124&l=221_HTML&u=8922783&mid=7280380&jb=117

United Way Utah 211 – https://211utah.org/

Trans & Gender Diverse Emergency Community Aid – https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/#inbox/WhctKJVqssMNBDPNPGGKtgmqBfTwlrRmlCgfsZXxwDtKHhMqNcqKzXCWLPGlmMtHfkwGHvB?projector=1

Another Round Another Rally: Hospitality Industry Workers – https://anotherroundanotherrally.org/

United States Bartender Guild – https://www.usbg.org/home

Just Serve – https://www.justserve.org/help/COVID-19-Considerations

Direct Relief – https://www.directrelief.org/

Blogs

Reducing stress in mind, body, & spirit during these times – https://www.namasteadvice.com/blog

Namaste Advice – https://www.namasteadvice.com/blog

Podcasts

Brene Brown – https://brenebrown.com/podcast/brene-on-ffts/

Dr. Melissa Smith – https://drmelissasmith.com/podcast/

Online Meeting Platforms to Stay Connected

Zoom – https://zoom.us/docs/en-us/covid19.html

Skype – https://www.skype.com/en/

House Party – https://houseparty.com/

Apps

Smiling Mind – https://apps.apple.com/us/app/smiling-mind/id560442518

Stop, Think, & Breathe – https://www.stopbreathethink.com

InsightTimer – https://insighttimer.com

10% Happier – https://www.tenpercent.com

Aura – https://www.aurahealth.io

Children & Parents

TEDed at Home – https://ed.ted.com/daily_newsletter

Khan Academy – https://www.khanacademy.org/

How to Raise your Kids Emotional IQ (free course) – https://kathykinghorn.teachable.com/p/raise-your-child-s-emotional-iq

Stay at Home Care Package – https://drive.google.com/file/d/1U26PKLsQ-FpPrx3OUzDDkLqK27-fbDhG/view?_ke=eyJrbF9lbWFpbCI6ICJzYXJhaEBzYXJhaGpvbGxleS5jb20iLCAia2xfY29tcGFueV9pZCI6ICJNTVNhYmYifQ%3D%3D

Comments